Nissan’s New Level Of Autonomous Vehicle

Nissan Skyline

Nissan Skyline with ProPilot 2.0

Nissan ProPilot 2.0 keeps an eye on you to make sure you are keeping an eye on the road, even when your hands are not on the wheel. Nissan’s new system is autonomous vehicle Level 2, which requires that you remain alert and able to take over if the self-driving can suddenly not cope.

This new technology is being introduced in the Nissan Skyline. The Skyline is not sold in South Africa, but you can view all Nissan cars for sale in South Africa on our website.

The ProPilot 2.0 is an on-ramp to off-ramp driver-assist system that will allow hands-free driving in a single lane on a multi-lane freeway. This includes helping to handle passing, lane diversions and lane exiting. The driver keys the route into the car’s navigation system. Once you enter a designated freeway, it will allow you to take your hands off the wheel.

Should the car’s multiple sensors detect a slower car or other reason to change lane, it will alert the driver. Two hands on the wheel or using the turn signal will give control back to the driver.

In addition to GPS and high-definition map data, the ProPilot 2.0 uses radar, Lidar (similar to sonar, but using light), front and all-round view cameras, as well as the aforementioned camera keeping an eye on your eyes.

All these sensors are changing the face of motoring, literally. The front of the Skyline is longer and smoother, with fewer folds and creases. This is because the sensors do not like creases, as they interfere with their signal wavelengths, according to Nissan Design Chief Alfonso Albaisa.

This new system follows the highly acclaimed ProPilot introduced in 2016, which was lane-keeping technology rather than hands-free.

In 2013 the US Department of Transportation categorised autonomous vehicles in six levels, which places the ProPilot 2.0 at Level 2. Most cars now on the road are Level 0, with the driver having to actively drive it. Level 1 has some lane-keeping and other driver-assist (the 2016 ProPilot) and level 2 as described above. In Level 3 the driver can watch a movie, but must still be available in the driver’s seat if needed. Level 4 means the driver can take a nap on the back seat and the car will pull over if things go wrong, and Level 5 means there is no driver, just the passenger.

A couple of years ago some manufacturers were talking about imminent Levels 4 and 5, but in reality, autonomous cars are developing step by step. These steps are getting shorter though.

There are Levels 4 and 5 operating around the world but on limited designated routes only.

Please follow news and stories about Nissan and its innovations by regularly checking this blog page and following us on Facebook.

Recent Posts for Nissan Intelligent Mobility:

What do you think? Let us know!